Google+ Reading Teen: Book Review: The Mephisto Covenant by Trinity Faegan

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Book Review: The Mephisto Covenant by Trinity Faegan

Reading level: Young Adult
Hardcover: 448 pages
Publisher: EgmontUSA (September 27, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 160684170X
ISBN-13: 978-1606841709
Buy the Book: Amazon
Visit the site: Trinity Faegan's Blog
Follow @TrinityFaegan on Twitter

Sasha is desperate to find out who murdered her father. When getting the answer means pledging her soul to Eryx, she unlocks a secret that puts her in grave danger—she is an Anabo, a daughter of Eve, and Eryx’s biggest threat.

A son of Hell, immortal, and bound to Earth forever, Jax looks for redemption in the Mephisto Covenant—God’s promise he will find peace in the love of an Anabo. After a thousand years, he’s finally found the girl he’s been searching for: Sasha.

With the threat of Eryx always looming, Jax knows he has to keep Sasha safe and win her over. But can he? Will Sasha love him and give up her mortal life?

The Mephisto Covenant was a very good book! Trinity Faegan's story of Sasha the Anabo and Jax the son of Hell is riveting, romantic and hard to put down. I enjoyed it from beginning to end, never a dull moment. I think my favorite part of the storyline was the fact that Jax had to work very hard for Sasha's love. He had to figure out what she liked and throw in cute little romantic gestures. I don't enjoy books where the romance has started on page three and they are willing to die for each other on page ten. Faegan took her time with their romance. I savoured every look of passion and every-time their skin touched. It was just so romantic, in my opinion. Now this book wasn't just one mushy romance with a damsel in distress (however, I would be okay with that!). No, this book has mystery, action, betrayal, heartache and one seriously evil dude.

I loved the characters in this book. There are several characters that were really evil, I loved to hate them. Jax was my favorite, he was one gorgeous, sweet, protective guy and super hot for Sasha. His character was complex, I mean he was the son of Hell. Although Jax had an evil side to him, he was still very cool. He would lose control when another dude approached Sasha or hurt her, but when it came to Sasha, he was as gentle as a lamb. (that was corny, I know) Sasha was very skeptical when Jax where was concerned. Even though he was a hot guy, totally pining for her, she took it very slow. I liked reading the back-n-forth of Sasha wanting to keep her distance from Jax, but then couldn't control herself. I think mostly the reason I liked Sasha was that she went through so much hardship. Sasha was teased, bullied, punched, pushed around, and groped. She went through so much and didn't play the damsel in distress. Sasha could have easily asked Jax to kill everyone, but she wanted to handle each situation herself. She was very determined to fix her life and not give up!

I would say read this book for the storyline. The Mephisto Covenant was very interesting and romantic. Am I repeating myself over and over? I hope Trinity Faegan is writing the sequel soon, because I would like to read more about Jax. He was truly a page turner. The back of the books says... "A sizzling romance that is ideal for fans of Lauren Kate's Fallen." Well I loved Fallen, so I guess it's right.

Sexual - EXTREME
Profanity - Very Heavy
Violence - Very Heavy

For full content of this book GO to Parental Book Reviews


  1. Sounds like you really enjoyed this book! I have it waiting for me, but I haven't picked it up yet (darn my humongous tbr pile!). I'm SO glad to hear that there's no insta-love. Oh, and it's great to see another Fallen series fan! :)

  2. I've heard mixed things about this book, so it's nice to see someone else that loved it! I think I'll have to move it up in my to-read pile. Thanks for the review!

  3. I most definitely agree that this was a hard book to put down! I found myself completely pulled into the story and the characters. Watching Jax and Sasha each develop/change in little ways throughout was really rewarding (right word? not sure).


Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)