Google+ Reading Teen: Lost Girls by Ann Kelley: Book Review & Giveaway

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Lost Girls by Ann Kelley: Book Review & Giveaway

Lost Girls
by Ann Kelley
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition (July 10, 2012)
Language: English
Mark on Goodreads
Buy the Book
No parents. No rules. No way home.

Fourteen-year-old Bonnie MacDonald couldn't be more excited for a camping trip on an island off the coast of Thailand with her fellow Amelia Earhart Cadets-the daughters of the men and women stationed there during the Vietnam War. But when a strong current deposits the girls on what their boatman calls the "forbidden island," things take a turn for the worse: A powerful storm comes to destroy their campsite, the smallest of the junior cadets is found dead, and their boatman never returns. What once seemed like a vacation in paradise has become a battle against the elements.

Peppered with short, frantic entries from Bonnie's journal, Lost Girls is a page-turning, heart-pounding adventure story about a group of teen girls fighting for their lives.
At a Glance:

Lost Girls was a thrilling adventure, filled with moments of beauty and moments of horror.  Fans of Lost, Survivor, and Lord of the Flies will be captivated by Bonnie's story.

Starts with a bang:

There is no frilly start to this book.  It's ominous from the start.  The girls of the Amelia Earhart Cadets group are practically ship-wrecked on a deserted forbidden island after their ship is caught in a storm.  Although they were planning on camping for a couple of days, nothing prepared them for the horrors to come.  After one pleasant day on the island, the girls were pummeled by a ferocious storm, leaving them with few supplies, and one member of their group dead.  The girls are terrified, and quickly realize that no one knows where they are, and help will be very hard to come by.

Not for the Faint of Heart:

This book does not glance over the disasters that befall these girls during their extended stay on the Forbidden Island.  There were moments where my heart felt trampled on, and those who have a weak stomach may have had to put the book down.  Storms, infections, sharks, tigers, snakes, mosquitoes, wild boars and all manner of other nasties inhabit this island, and make for dangerous companions.

Bonnie:

Bonnie was a really interesting character.  I really liked her a lot because although she was a hero, I'd say she was a reluctant one, and definitely a flawed one.  I'm not sure how the girls would've survived without her, but that didn't mean she was always the best one of the group.  I love that her character grew, and I loved how much passion she had, whether good or bad.  When she loved, she loved fiercely, when she hated, she hated with intensity, and I can't say I blame her.  I was loving and hating right along with her.

No Romance?

Although there was mention of a crush that Bonnie had back home, there was really no romance to speak of.  This, I have to admit, usually bothers me, because I'm a romance girl.  This book, however, was so full of action and danger, that I didn't think about it once.  I think that the friendships that are made, enhanced, or even wrecked in Lost Girls, made this an emotional read, and it didn't need any romance to complete the story.

What Would I Do?

These books always make me think about what I would do if this happened to me.  I think that I really connected with this book because Bonnie seems a lot like me.  I think I would have had a lot of the same thoughts and reactions, especially when it came to the USELESS adult that accompanied them.  If I could have reached through this book, and throttled Layla Campbell, I would have done it in a heartbeat.  I may be delusional, but I think I could survive.  How about you?

Book Doppelgangers:

Lord of the Flies (though a "lighter" read, I'd say), The Hunger Games (from a survival standpoint)

Content:
  • Sexual Content:  Mild
  • Profanity:  Moderate
  • Violence/Gore:  Heavy
  • Other Notables:  The adult that chaperoned drank heavily and smoked pot, she gave some to a few of the girls.
For more details, check out Lost Girls on Parentalbookreviews.com



May take a moment to load:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

55 comments:

  1. Great review - I read this when it was first published as Koh-Tabu and it blew me away.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, fantastic! I didn't realize it had been previously published!

      Delete
  2. I'm always looking for YA books to pair with the classics commonly taught. This one sounds great! Thanks for bringing this one to my attention.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I would hope I could... And also, no love interest angle? WOOOT! I get a little tired of that in books :P

    ReplyDelete
  4. Let's hope I could!! LOL!

    I'm a new Mom YA Reviewer. I love your blog! Will you visit mine when you can. It would mean the world to me.
    http://momwithakindle.blogspot.com/
    Thanks!
    Michelle

    ReplyDelete
  5. I would *hope* I could survive, but I'm a wimp. And I don't like the outdoors, or bugs, or cold, or any of that!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  6. You betcha! I am tougher than a pine knot!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'd hope so, but I don't know. I'm not exactly an outdoors girl.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Yes! I would survive using my nonexistant survival instincts.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I like to think I'd survive... If I were alone, I'd probably just give up. If I were with others, I think I'd take charge, though, which would probably lead to better survival odds for me. :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. I don't go camping so I wouldn't survive too terribly long.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I wouldn't last five minutes lol
    Thank you for the terrific giveaway - I've been eager to read this <3

    Mary DeBorde M.A.D.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Not long, I don't go camping nor am outdoor person.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I hope so. Thanks for the chance to win!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Let's remain positive (though I am an absolute pessimist) and say I would survive. :)
    Cheers!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Yes with others, but not on my own. I think it's a situation where you need others to survive. For moral support.

    Thanks so much:)

    ReplyDelete
  16. No, probably not. I'm a wimp when it comes to outdoorsy things. Especially bugs. Bugs and I do not get along. I'm sure it would be fun for awhile, but then I'd probably die.

    ReplyDelete
  17. Absolutely! I'm a survivor. :D

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Yeah, I'd survive. Awesome review. Sounds like a great read. Thx for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  19. I'd like to think I've learned enough skills throughout my life that I could and would survive!

    ReplyDelete
  20. Yep! Im a black belt in TKD! I always wanted to break someone's arm to hear the snap....... :D

    ReplyDelete
  21. I am pretty sure I would have a tough time. My idea of roughing it is a motel room with no tv. But I think I would do what I had to do.

    ReplyDelete
  22. I honestly don't think I'd survive. :D
    Great review! I'm a romance girl too, but I think I can survive without some every once in a while.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Honestly - no I wouldn't. Not unless I was with someone else who could help me. Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  24. I'd like to think I'd survive, but in reality, I doubt I would last very long!

    ReplyDelete
  25. I dont think I could survive. I would try my hardest but there is only so much that someone can take

    ReplyDelete
  26. I don't know if I could survive. If I was by myself I don't think I could, but if I was with a group of people I think I might be okay. Thanks for the giveaway! :D

    ReplyDelete
  27. I would sure try, but I'm in terrible shape, so likely not. :(

    ReplyDelete
  28. Honestly, I have no clue if I would survive or not, but I'm leaning more toward not. XD

    The book sounds really interesting! Thanks for the review.

    ReplyDelete
  29. I hope I could survive. I would try my best.

    ReplyDelete
  30. I would have a hard time - I need my little luxuries.

    ReplyDelete
  31. I'd try my best but I probably wouldn't survive lol.

    ReplyDelete
  32. Thanks for the great review and for the giveaway.. I will, of course..:D

    ReplyDelete
  33. Yes, I could survive :)
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  34. I sure hope I would be able to survive! Thanks for the giveaway!!

    ReplyDelete
  35. I hope I would...thanks for the giveaway!

    avalonne83 [at] yahoo [dot] it

    ReplyDelete
  36. I hope I never have to find out. I like to think I would.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    ReplyDelete
  37. I would do my best, but it is hard to say.

    ReplyDelete
  38. Very difficult to say... Hopefully I will never ever have to find out 'cause I'm not sure...

    ReplyDelete
  39. I've seen enough of Survivor to know what not to do, so I'll say sure I have a good chance of surviving...

    ReplyDelete
  40. This sounds interesting, I'd like to think I could survive, but sometimes I think I'd wind up being a piggy... :/ Haha

    ReplyDelete
  41. I would survive...Thank you for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  42. I'd like to think I'd survive, but honestly I haven't the slightest clue. Thanks for the giveaway, sounds great!

    ReplyDelete
  43. I really don't know. I hope I could survive.
    Thank you for the giveaway!
    Artemis

    ReplyDelete
  44. I think I could survive - but I'm not sure!
    :D
    Thanks for the giveaway

    ReplyDelete

Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)