Google+ Reading Teen: {Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY!} DECEPTION by C.J. Redwine

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

{Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY!} DECEPTION by C.J. Redwine

Today we have the amazingly talented C.J. Redwine here to talk about her Top Ten YA books that she's read this year. I have to agree with a lot of these and now there are a few more for me to add to my TBR pile.  Make sure to follow the whole tour on Mundie Moms and enter the GIVEAWAY below!!

Buy the book!
Haven't read Defiance?  Get it first!

Top Ten YA Books I’ve Read This Year

I often get asked what books I’ve read and loved recently. This is one of my favorite questions to answer! I’m always thrilled to connect readers with new books they’ll love. There is absolutely no way I could narrow down the huge list of books I love to a list of top ten YA books of all time, so I just looked at the last few months of reading and picked my faves.

1. Fracture by Megan Miranda:

I love this book (and the hero Decker) so much. Truly brilliant and un-put-downable. It has mystery, tension, romance, heartbreak and did I mention Decker? Yes. Decker. Go read this.

2. The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson:

Have you read THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS yet? If so, then you already know the absolute magic of this trilogy. If not, then what are you waiting for? This trilogy has heart, depth, and the kind of sweeping epicness that made all of us fall for Game of Thrones. Plus, this series has a heroine who is AWESOME, mostly because she doesn’t think she is, and because she has to work to rise to the occasion. Also, this series (and especially this book) have Hector. Trust me. You want to read this.

3. If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch:

I can’t even with this book. I just can’t. I don’t think there are words to convey how heartbreakingly brilliant it is. A story of hope and survival against overwhelming odds told by a girl who sounds like backwoods Tennessee meets old English poet. I just … if this book doesn’t win awards, I’m going to go into mourning.

4. Infinityglass by Myra McEntire:

Funny, witty, swoony, action-packed … what more do you want? This is a real page-turner and a fabulous finish to a thoroughly entertaining series!

5. Splintered by A.G. Howard:

I loved this return to Wonderland book! It’s topsy-turvy, dangerous, and slightly mad, just as a book set mostly in Wonderland should be. And it does an excellent job of taking the mythology of Wonderland and pushing it into the modern world. So well done.

6. Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa:

If you love dystopians and vampires, but you figured you were done with those genres? Think again. Kagawa does the near impossible and makes a vampire dystopian feel fresh and exciting. I loved this second installment in the series, and can’t wait to get my hands on the third!

7. Asunder by Jodi Meadows:

Another second book that cemented my love for a series. Asunder takes the lovely romance, the fascinating world, and the atmospheric tension in Incarnate and kicks it up a notch. I was thoroughly captivated! (Also? I’ve read the third book, the one that comes out in January, and wow. Just … wow.)

8. Rootless by Chris Howard:

Post-apocalyptic literature done right! Vivid worldbuilding, tons of action, lovely writing, and a narrator who reminded me of Sawyer from Lost. Oh, yes. You’re welcome.

9. Reboot by Amy Tintera:

I loved this book so much, I blurbed it. Such an action-packed futuristic dystopian with a heroine like none you’ve ever met. And a hero who will give you all the feels. I promise. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series!

10. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd:

As a fan of classic gothic novels, I fell head over heels for this book. It’s got everything I love about classic gothics (atmospheric tension, surreal settings, and the feeling that the heroine is spinning increasingly out of control through no fault of her own) but with characters that are more relatable to the modern reader. It’s a brilliant gem of a book.

A rich, postapocalyptic YA fantasy perfect for fans of Graceling and Tamora Pierce, this sequel to C. J. Redwine's Defiance continues the story of warrior Rachel Adams and her love, Logan McEntire. With their city-state ravaged, their lives under constant threat from rival armies, and a band of survivors looking to them for leadership, Rachel and Logan must work to forge a new future for them all.

Abandoning the ruins of their home to take their chances in the Wasteland, the group soon realizes their problems have only begun: an unknown killer—possibly inside their ranks—has begun picking off the survivors one by one. And Rachel and Logan must question whether the price of freedom may be too great—and whether they can make it out of the Wasteland alive.

Purchase it from: Harper Teen | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Add it to Goodreads

About The Author

C. J. Redwine lives in Nashville, Tennessee, with her four beautiful kids, an amazing husband, two fairly crazy cats, and a dog. She has books in every corner of her house, an impressive Harry Potter memorabilia collection, and a bunch of really cool friends she doesn't get to see nearly as much as she'd like to. She is also the author of Defiance.

Visit C.J. via her Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Tumblr

The Giveaway:

We're giving away a signed copy of either Defiance or Deception (winner's choice), and 2 runner up winners will receive a set of bookmarks
a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. Great list of Top Ten YA books. I agree on some, there are a few I haven't read, but can't wait too!

  2. I have to agree with your opinion of The Madman's Daughter. I absolutely loved that book! I was lucky enough to win Her Dark Curiosity and I'm dying to read it but I'm saving it for the Labour Day weekend so that I can read it undisturbed! I'm going to check out some of the others on your Top Ten List and I know my TBR list is going to take a big hit! Read On!

  3. I LOVED the Madman's daughter!!! It was such a dark and creepy read!!!! And I keep meaning to read If You Find Me!! It sounds fantastic!!! Awesome list a d I can't wait to read Deception!!

  4. Great top ten! Thanks for the giveaway(:

  5. I loved The Madman's Daughter it will no doubt make it on my best of 2013 list come the end of the year. I liked Rootless as well it was an interesting book.

  6. Great list! Some of these I haven't heard of so thanks for the recommendations. And I've been dying to read the second book in this series!

  7. I really need to read The Madman's Daughter! You make it sound AMAZING! thank you SO much for the giveaway (you too Ms.Redwine)

  8. Wow, love your top 10 list! I adore a lot of those on there, but it's great to see you mention Rootless. It's such an underrated & awesome book! I loved the story so much. The world-building was so imaginative and it felt like such a grand adventure, with plenty of twists and turns. Thanks for the giveaway also! :)

  9. Please delete my entries. Saw too late the US-only bit :)


Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)