Google+ Reading Teen: {Blog Tour & Contest} THE DARK BETWEEN by Sonia Gensler

Friday, September 6, 2013

{Blog Tour & Contest} THE DARK BETWEEN by Sonia Gensler

The main setting of The Dark Between is Summerfield College, an institution for women within Cambridge University. Summerfield is based on the very real (and still women-only) Newnham College.

Newnham was founded by the first president of the Society for Psychical Research, Henry Sidgwick. His mathematically gifted wife, Eleanor Balfour Sidgwick, eventually became principal of the institution and, much later, served a term as president of the Society herself. (An interesting bit of trivia: Eleanor’s brother, Arthur Balfour, was a vice-president of the SPR and eventually became Prime Minister of England!) Newnham College has many famous graduates, including one of my favorite authors, Dame A.S. Byatt, author of Possession, and actress/screenwriter Emma Thompson. (See the full list of prominent Newnham grads here.)

But enough about the famous people—let’s talk about the college itself. It is set apart from the bustling city center of Cambridge. The walk is not far, but you notice the peace and quiet immediately. The Pfeiffer Arch greets you first (see below), and the Queen Anne style of architecture make such a bright contrast to the Gothic stone of the more famous colleges. Inside are lovely garden spaces, and the atmosphere is tranquil. Tourists don’t bother much with it, the porters are friendly, and the rare visitor is encouraged to wander about at her leisure. It seemed an ideal place for characters like Kate, Asher, and Elsie to hide from their problems. It also seemed like the perfect place to hide a dark secret.

by Sonia Gensler

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

The Dark Between, a supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, is perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.
Buy the book: Amazon 


Each stop on the blog tour is revealing a code word that can be used to enter a contest on Sonia's website for a DARK BETWEEN prize pack, including a finished copy of the book. Head over to: to enter the contest, but first you need our code word:


- Contest open to U.S. only
- Readers can enter multiple times if they visit each blog on the tour and submit an entry with the various secret codes; one entry per person per code word.

Sonia's website:

Follow the tour:

Sept. 2 - Mundie Moms
Sept. 3 - Candace's Book Blog
Sept. 4 - Once Upon a Twilight
Sept. 5 - Small Review
Sept. 6 - Reading Teen
Sept. 9 - Book Chic Club
Sept. 10 - The Story Siren
Sept. 11 - Ruby's Reads
Sept. 12 - Page Turners Blog
Sept. 13 - Icey Books 


  1. This sounds like a very atmospheric and creepy book. Since I first heard of this I have been interested. I love these types of books!!


Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)