Google+ Reading Teen: UNINVITED by Sophie Jordan {Review}

Thursday, February 6, 2014

UNINVITED by Sophie Jordan {Review}

Uninvited #1
by Sophie Jordan
Hardcover: 384 pages
Publisher: HarperTeen (January 28, 2014)
Language: English
Buy the book: Amazon
From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her as a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy had everything—a terrific boyfriend, the homecoming crown, a bright future at Juilliard—but when her genetic tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, she loses it all. Uninvited from her prestigious school and avoided by her friends and family, she is placed in a special class with other "carriers" who are treated like the murderers they someday might become.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life and tells her that she alone controls her actions—not the code embedded in her DNA. But even if she can learn to trust him, can Davy trust herself?

Part Gattaca, part Point of No Return (Nikita), part Divergent.

I really enjoyed this book. Sophie Jordan is one of my favorite authors to read. I loved her Firelight series so much, and was really happy that I found this book just as good.

Davy was a fantastic female character, full of personality, incredibly smart, and quick to evolve to her ever-changing, and horrifying surroundings.

The world-building was written in a way that you could feel the way society was crumbling, without it getting bogged down in details. I especially loved the different letters/articles/messages/etc that were placed between the chapters, talking about different events that were occurring around the country. It added an element of intensity to the story.

This book did have a little too much "alpha male" for my comfort, but overall I still really liked the romance. There was one part where Sean thinks he should "show" Davy what can happen to her if she's not careful, and that rubbed me the wrong way. So...I'm pretending that didn't happen. Otherwise, the tension was awesome between Davy and Sean. I love how protective he is of her, and visa versa.

The Uninvited was a quick and easy read, I liked it a lot and can't wait to find out what happens next. Especially since it kind of just ends in the middle of the story....tricky, tricky. 


1 comment:

  1. This book sounds really cool. I might have to get it from the library soon!


Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)