Google+ Reading Teen: SEA OF SHADOWS by Kelley Armstrong {Review}

Thursday, April 17, 2014

SEA OF SHADOWS by Kelley Armstrong {Review}

Reviewed by Andye

Age of Legends #1
by Kelley Armstrong
File Size: 773 KB
Print Length: 417 pages
Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0751547816
Publisher: HarperCollins; 1st edition (April 8, 2014)
Mark on Goodreads
Buy on Amazon
Kelley Armstrong, #1 New York Times bestselling author, takes an exciting new direction with this big, breathtaking blend of fantasy, romance, horror, and pulse-pounding action, perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones.

Twin sisters Moria and Ashyn were marked at birth to become the Keeper and the Seeker of Edgewood, beginning with their sixteenth birthday. Trained in fighting and in the secret rites of the spirits, they lead an annual trip into the Forest of the Dead. There, the veil between the living world and the beyond is thinnest, and the girls pay respect to the spirits who have passed.

But this year, their trip goes dreadfully wrong.

With all the heart-stopping romance and action that have made her a #1 New York Times bestselling author, and set in an unforgettably rich and dangerous world, this first epic book in the Age of Legends trilogy will appeal to Kelley Armstrong's legions of fans around the world and win her many new ones.
At a Glance:

Sea of Shadows is an amazing and unique fantasy, full of action and adventure, terrifying creatures, murder, twists, mysteries, slow-burning romance(s), and a sisterly duo that will rival any I've ever read.  In short, it was exactly my kind of book.

Shuddersome (yep, it's a word):

The world that Kelley Armstrong created was like nothing I've ever read.  It was part The Village, part Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo and part Rift & Rise by Andrea Cremer, and a whole lot more.  And this book was CREEEEEPY!  I had no idea where this story was going, or what foul creature would show up next.  I read a couple of reviews that said the beginning was slow, but I didn't think so at all!  I mean, an ominous forest, angry criminals, terrifying creatures, people getting killed left and right!  Personally, I found the entire thing to be insane!  In a creepy good way.

The Keeper and The Seeker:

No, we're not playing Quidditch.  Twin sisters, Moria (The Keeper) and Ashyn (The Seeker) are charged with protecting their town, and putting to rest the spirits that haunt The Forest of the Dead.  They both have gifted animals (a wildcat and a hound) that they are bound to, and almost act like familiars.  I love the relationship the two sisters have, and I love how completely different they are.  Moria is fierce, brave, and logical, almost to the point of emotionlessness.  Ashyn is smart, patient and compassionate, and can't fight to save her life (at least that's how she feels).  The POV alters between the two, and I loved reading from both of their viewpoints.  Terrible things happened to them over and over, and they just kept fighting.  For themselves, for each other, and for all the people they are responsible for.


The romance(s) in Sea of Shadows is definitely a slow-burn.  That's absolutely my favorite kind.  In one of my favorite series (The Seven Realms) the couple doesn't even get together until the end of the second book.  That's how much I love the tension and build of a romance.  In this book,  Gavril and Ronan both end up accompanying the girls on their journey, and the relationships that form are so unique from each other, it was fantastic.  What starts out as hostility and distrust grows into respect and then more, but the way the girls handle it was completely contradictory.  I really didn't know what was going to happen, and in the end, I was pretty shocked at the outcome...

Blood and Gore:

This story was definitely one of the more gruesome books I've read in YA.  The fighting is intense, and the things that are done to the characters are pretty horrific sometimes.  This added an element of fear and tension to the book, which I was happy with, but some might get a little squeamish.  

For Fantasy Lovers:

I definitely think that you have to be a lover of Epic/High Fantasy to like this book.  There is a different pacing with heavier fantasy than with your average YA novel, and that has to be your "thing" if you're going to enjoy a book like this.  Luckily, it is SO my thing.  And I loved every minute of it!  Well....except for that MASSIVE CLIFFHANGER!  Not nice.  Not nice at all!

I'm so excited to see where this book goes, and what incredible creatures, romances and plot twists come next!

  • Sexual Content:  Moderate dialog
  • Profanity:  One "S" word
  • Violence:  Very heavy


  1. This sounds like an amazing book. I love fantasy books and Moria is also extremely close to my name so that makes me even more interested in reading it.

    1. True!! I've never read a book that has my name...maybe someday! :D

  2. I cannot wait to read this!! I loved her Darkest Powers series, so this has to be amazing.

  3. I haven't read anything by Kelley Armstrong, but I've had my eye on this book since I heard about it. I'm glad you liked it and it's good to hear it was creepy. I enjoy a good erie read. Great review and thanks for the giveaway!

    1. It's super creepy, but in such a good way!

  4. OoOoOh Man does this book sound GOOOOD!!!!! Awesome review on it!!! I cant wait to read this book!!!!

  5. I have loved everything Kelley Armstrong has written, both Adult and YA. So I'm looking forward to reading this one too!

    1. I haven't read her adult stuff, I really need to!

  6. I haven't read much of Kelley's books I've only read OMENS and really like that but I have her Darkness rising 1 & 2(I got those in discount HC) I'm waiting for book 3 to circulate to discount in HC. I also have Bitten and Stolen but haven't read that either.

  7. loved all her book and this one sounds like another great read. Thanks for the review.

  8. This book sounds amazing, you've completely caught my attention!!! I like the profanity: one S words XD

  9. I can't wait to read this book, it sounds amazing!! :)

  10. LOVE high fantasy! Now I'm going to have to add this one to my TBR pile! Thanks for the review,

  11. Stunning cover. I'd pick it up just for that. Your review says must read.

  12. Wow, if this was one of the most gruesome books in YA I need to get it now!!! Love the cover.

  13. How come I don't remember you forcing me to read this? You're such a bad friend ;)

  14. I'm so happy to see a good review of this book! I was a bit concerned about reading it after seeing some not-so-good reviews. As a lover of fantasy, I thought this book would be right up my alley - I am thankful to you for confirming this! I can't wait to read this one!


Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)