Google+ Reading Teen: SOLITAIRE by Alice Oseman

Thursday, February 19, 2015

SOLITAIRE by Alice Oseman

"Review my books" Review by Natalie

In case you're wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that's all over now.

Now there's Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don't know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don't care about Michael Holden.

I really don't.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.
Amazon | Goodreads

Thank you Andye from for your Review my Books program! I quite honestly really really really enjoyed this book. Honestly. Solitaire was a major win.


 Get it?

XD When the synopsis says it is "unflinchingly honest", it speaks the truth. Alice Oseman wrote a brilliant contemporary. Though I wouldn't expect anything else from a fellow 90s child. ;)


This book is hard to explain. I went into it knowing merely what it has printed on the cover, "This is the story of...Tori. Michael. Becky. Lucas. Charlie. And the year that changed everything." Not much to go on really. But it takes place in Britain and has British boys and British diction so, happy times for us Americans. Victoria Spring, Tori as she likes to be referred to, doesn't try. Nor does anyone else for that matter. Everyone just doesn't care, according to Tori, and so she doesn't either. That is, until Solitaire infiltrates her school and Michael Holden infiltrates her busy schedule of wallowing in self pity and pessimistic thoughts. But I like Tori. She may be a bit of a Debbie Downer and push everyone away with her "Don't try" attitude, but she grew on me. Because she started to try. Mostly thanks to her new-found maybe gay maybe straight friend, Michael Holden. Michael Holden's characterization is the work of a genius. He is. Just. So. FUN. A freaking fantastic boy.
"He's a very ordinary-looking, not ugly but not hot, miscellaneous boy. His most noticeable feature is a pair of large thick-frames square glasses, the sort similar to those 3D cinema glasses that twelve-year-olds pop the lenses out of and wear because they think it makes them look "rad." God, I hate it when people wear glasses like that. He's tall and has a side part. In one hand he holds a mug; in the other, a piece of paper and his school planner."
So basically he's perfect. This book was a mystery. Solitaire is this anonymous blog that starts arranging pranks around the school. All of them seem to relate to Tori for some reason. But why? THAT'S THE QUESTION. So yes, it requires you to put on your sleuthing cap. 


It's not just a mystery though, it's about realizing you don't have to do everything alone. It's okay to open yourself up. It's just an overall brilliant book, so give it a go. I'll give you one more look into why Michael is perfect.
"They locked you in this room," he says, "and you still don't care. Why not consider it this way: They're the evil criminal organization and you're Sherlock Holmes. I'll be John Watson. But we've got to be the Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman Sherlock and Watson, because the BBC Sherlock is infinitely greater than all other adaptations." I stare at him. "It's the only adaptation that gets the bromance right." "You're a fangirl," I whisper, with mock horror."
He understands us. Happy Reading!!! All quotes were taken from an ARC

1 comment:

Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)