Google+ Reading Teen: THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYE by Cynthia Hand

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYE by Cynthia Hand

"Review My Books" Review by Audris

THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYE
by Cynthia Hand
Hardcover: 400 pages
Publisher: HarperTeen (February 10, 2015)
Language: English

Goodreads | Amazon
Since her brother, Tyler, committed suicide, Lex has been trying to keep her grief locked away, and to forget about what happened that night. But as she starts putting her life, her family, and her friendships back together, Lex is haunted by a secret she hasn't told anyone—a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

In the tradition of Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why, Gayle Forman's If I Stay, and Lauren Oliver's Before I Fall, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a thoughtful and deeply affecting novel that will change the way you look at life and death. 
Wow. I don't even know where to begin. Actually, that's a lie. I know exactly where to begin. I'm going to start off by saying that this book is an emotional roller coaster from the very first page, so if you're not ready to have your hear ripped from your chest, then I suggest waiting to pick up Cynthia Hand's new novel.

The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a novel about a girl, Lexie, who has to pick up the pieces of her life after her younger brother commits suicide. It's a story about Lexi finding her place in life and what she's meant to do now. I think my favorite thing is that this isn't a story drenched in romance. Every once in a while I want a solid story, about the difficult parts of life, that's packed with emotions, and this was perfect for the job. There is some romance but it definitely takes a back seat to the family/friendship aspect. Where do you go when your family is broken and you don't even know what to talk to your friends about? Cynthia Hand explores is all in The Last Time We Say Goodbye.

Honestly, even as I'm writing this review, I'm tearing up. I don't have a little brother, but my best friend has a little brother who I've adopted as my own and the entire time I was just thinking that if anything ever happened I wouldn't know what to do with myself. I feel like I would be in the same shoes as Lexie. Her character is so easy to relate to even if you haven't been in the same situation as her because Cynthia Hand has a way of writing amazing characters. You feel like you're in the story yourself, which is probably why only 50 pages in I was getting choked up.

This leads me to the writing, and there's only one thing I can say. It is truly magical. I had my reservations about reading a contemporary book by Cynthia Hand since her previous series was a paranormal story dealing with angels. Needless to say, I shouldn't have worried. This has the same emotional undertones that her Unearthly series had. Cynthia Hand is the master of composing a fantastic emotional story. I can't recommend this novel enough. Everyone has something to take from this story.


Best wishes,
Audris

9 comments:

  1. Wow. This sounds profound. Moving. Memorable. Thanks for making me aware of it. The title and cover are intriguing as well. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'll definitely be reading this, I've heard fantastic things and I think I'll really enjoy it! :) Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Awesome review! I don't know if I can read this one because I REALLY hate being sad, or crying. But it sounds SO GOOD. I'll have to weigh the pros and cons, hahaha.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ugh, I'm scared to read this. Emotional books like this aren't really for me. But I want to read this one. I hope I really like it too and that it doesn't make me cry.

    ReplyDelete
  5. This book was amazing! I mean, it was an emotional roller coaster for sure. And so heart wrenching at times. I loved the hope it brought in the end. And I thought Lex's growth/grieving process was done so well. I will say I didn't cry. I don't usually cry at books, though (it's rare for me). I also read this coming off of All the Bright Places, which I was pretty invested in and then got hit hard with a punch to the gut in the end. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Nereyda, I think you'll enjoy this one. It's really fantastic!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Andye, don't write it off. It's fantastic!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Ugh. Really? I just got the audiobook email for it but IM SCARED!!!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Just jump in. Really, it's fantastic. Ok, so it's a little sad at parts, but there is also hope. I love that. And I want to know what you think of it!!!

    ReplyDelete

Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)