Google+ Reading Teen: THE SECRETS OF ATTRACTION by Robin Constantine

Thursday, April 9, 2015


Review by Bri

The Secrets of Attraction
The Secrets of Attraction
Robin Constantine
Releasing: 28th April, 2015
Balzer + Bray
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Age: Young Adult

Set in the same world as The Promise of Amazing, this smart, surprising, and romantic follow-up to Robin Constantine's debut novel follows two New Jersey teens as they become friends and fall in love. Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Sarah Mlynowski, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Madison Pryce thinks she's got everything figured out—she's working on a portfolio for a summer art program and hanging with her friends. Plus she has her hot boyfriend, Zach. But then a visit from a family friend turns Maddie's life upside down.

Jesse McMann is still reeling from a breakup that shattered his heart and his band. Then pride (and some goading from his bass player and fellow barista) forces him to find a new drummer—and the inspiration to write music again.

Kismet arrives in the unlikely form of Grayson Barrett, who tries out for Jesse's band, and whose girlfriend is BFFs with the cute girl who orders a chai latte after yoga every Thursday: Maddie. What Jesse and Maddie thought they knew about the secrets of attraction and the rules of romance changes once they start falling for each other.

What I liked: Each of the characters were flawed in a way that made them feel very realistic and most of the situations felt real too. The romance wasn't completely there the entire time they interacted, but you can see it grow and shape as the story goes on. Madison was a fun character to follow, and so was Jesse. The dual POV really worked in this book and helped show both sides of the story as its happening and helps flesh it out more, and it was really interesting to see how these two balance and complement each other in different ways. While they're both considered artist, their art is different and similar. Both are related to emotions, yet they're put on display in different ways. I love how Jesse even asked Maddie to help with a band logo, and how she loves architecture so much, and I wish that had been expanded upon to see more of her excitement! I also love how different the band name was from what you would usually see as a band name. It's simple and easy to remember, and I really like that about it!

What I didn't like: There really wasn't a lot of tension where I worried about the relationship and whether they would overcome the odds to be together. The little hang ups about their relationship weren't that big, and they were easily predictable. I wish they hadn't been so easily overcome or easy to predict.

Overall Review: My favorite part about this book has to be how both Maddie and Jesse chose to be friends first to learn about each other before they get together. It built a nice foundation for the relationship and gave it a realistic feel. It even showed how not every relationship is meant to be even if you think it is, and there's three instances in this book of that and I really liked that perspective on romance for this book. I really like the way the characters interact and show how their friendships are, and how Yellow #5 comes together. It was a great, light read that I really liked!

Recommend?: Definitely! It was a nice read that was good for a light, fluffy read that I didn't have to concentrate too hard on after a heavy read.

My Rating: 3.9/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.8
Idea: 3.6
Story: 4.2
Characters: 4

Book Reviews

Don't forget to check out the companion novel!

The Promise of Amazing
The Promise of Amazing
Robin Constantine
Published: 31st December, 2013
Balzer + Bray
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Age: Young Adult
Wren Caswell is average. Ranked in the middle of her class at Sacred Heart, she’s not popular, but not a social misfit. Wren is the quiet, “good” girl who's always done what she's supposed to—only now in her junior year, this passive strategy is backfiring. She wants to change, but doesn’t know how.

Grayson Barrett was the king of St. Gabe’s. Star of the lacrosse team, top of his class, on a fast track to a brilliant future—until he was expelled for being a “term paper pimp.” Now Gray is in a downward spiral and needs to change, but doesn’t know how.

One fateful night their paths cross when Wren, working at her family’s Arthurian-themed catering hall, performs the Heimlich on Gray as he chokes on a cocktail weenie, saving his life literally and figuratively. What follows is the complicated, awkward, hilarious, and tender tale of two teens shedding their pasts, figuring out who they are—and falling in love.

Robin Constantine

About the Author

Robin Constantine is the author of The Promise of Amazing and The Secrets of Attraction. A born-and-raised Jersey girl, Robin likes to spend her days dreaming up stories where love conquers all, eventually, but not without a lot of peril, angst, and the occasional kissing scene. She loves swoony books, flip-flops, dark chocolate and the full moon.



Leave your thoughts

Post a Comment

Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)