Google+ Reading Teen: Andye's Favorite Things to do in D.C. {The Fixer Blog Tour & Giveaway}

Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Andye's Favorite Things to do in D.C. {The Fixer Blog Tour & Giveaway}



We recently read and LOVED The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes, so we jumped at the chance to be on the blog tour, and spread the love a little more!

Since The Fixer is set in Washington D.C., and I happen to live in the D.C. area, I was asked to talk about my favorite things to do in D.C. Make sure you enter the Giveaway at the end of the post!

Seeing all the sites:

  • The way that I most love to see the city, is on bicycle. Either bringing my own bike, or using one of the Capital Bikeshare bikes. Those are awesome because they have stations at all the major attractions so you can check out a bike and return it to a different spot. And as long as you don't keep it out longer than 30 minutes, you don't have to pay more than the original $8/bike.
  • This is going to sound beyond tacky, and incredibly touristy, but seriously one of the best ways to see D.C. is on one of the tour buses. They have all the major monuments, attractions, and museums on their route. The tour guide tells you fun facts about the city while you ride. You can hop off and on whenever you want. And you don't die from exhaustion and sore feet. If you've never been before, or you want a new perspective, I highly recommend a bus tour!
Favorite Sites:

A replica of the Capitol Building at the Botanical Gardens
  • The National Botanical Gardens - If you go, make sure you get a Jr. Botanist kit. Yeah, I don't care if you're 30, get one, it's so much fun!
The Capitol Columns at the Arboretum

  • The Arboretum - An arboretum is a living museum where trees, shrubs, and herbaceous plants are cultivated for scientific and educational purposes. The National Arboretum also has the National Capitol Columns which are really awesome!

WWII Memorial
The Washington Monument from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial
  • The Monuments at night - You definitely want to see everything (on a bike is great) but there's nothing quite like seeing the famous D.C. sites at night. Everything is just lit up so gorgeously. High priorities should go to the WWII Memorial, The Lincoln Memorial and the Washington Monument.
  • Ford's Theater & the house where Lincoln died - I swear I've been here so many times and it never gets old. 
  • The Spy Museum - This one costs money, and it's a lot of fun to go through the museum, but my favorite thing to do there is the "Spy in the City." They give your group a GPS game and you pretend to be spies who are tracking down the bad guys. They give you clues and information, sending you all over D.C. to thwart the threat to our country. Too fun!

outside the Holocaust Museum


 Bridge to Theodore Roosevelt Island


  • Theodore Roosevelt Island - One of the coolest places to go in D.C. is Theodore Roosevelt Island. You can hike around the island, climb on rocks, stick your feet in the river (if you're brave enough), and make your way to the memorial. It's a great way to get away from the concrete jungle.

The Promenade in Georgetown

C&O Canal, Georgetown

  • Georgetown - I absolutely adore going to Georgetown. Whether it's to go shopping, eat some good food, or just walk along the promenade, it's such an adorable neighborhood with so much to see. 
What to eat:

  • Shake Shack - I don't go to D.C. and not eat Shake Shack. I just don't. Amazing burgers, CRINKLE FRIES, and awesome shakes. There's one in Dupont Circle, one next to the Spy Museum, and one in Union Station. You're welcome.
  • Sprinkles Cupcakes - Everyone lines up for hours to eat at Georgetown Cupcakes (from the t.v. show DC Cupcakes), but right down the street is an even better cupcake shop. Sprinkles Cupcakes has Georgetown cupcakes beat hands down. Skip the line and go there instead. Get the red velvet or the lemon blueberry!
  • Pie Sisters - If you're more of a pie person, but you like the idea of cupcakes, you MUST try Pie Sisters in Georgetown. They have a huge assortment of cupcake pies. And they are delicious!! Go get one and take it down to the river and eat it while you watch people kayak down the Potomac!

Other great spots:
  • The National Cathedral - SO PRETTY!
  • The Postal Museum - Way more fun than it sounds
  • The Old Post Office - An old building with shops and a great view from the clocktower
  • The Newseum - A little costly, but really fascinating
  • Politics & Prose Bookstore - Yeah, I don't have to explain this to you
  • The Tidal Basin - Gorgeous, especially when the cherry blossoms are in bloom

Well, I could go on, but I will stop before you forget why you cam here in the first place! Check out THE FIXER and enter the giveaway below!

P.S. If you go through your Senator's office, they'll arrange tons of awesome things for you with special perks (We passed up all the lines in the Capitol Building and got to lay the wreath on George Washington's tomb at Mt. Vernon.)

Have you been to D.C.? What's your favorite thing to do?



When sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick is sent to live with her older sister, Ivy, she has no idea that the infamous Ivy Kendrick is Washington D.C.'s #1 “fixer,” known for making politicians’ scandals go away for a price. No sooner does Tess enroll at Hardwicke Academy than she unwittingly follows in her sister’s footsteps and becomes D.C.’s premier high school fixer, solving problems for elite teens.

Secrets pile up as each sister lives a double life. . . . until their worlds come crashing together and Tess finds herself in the middle of a conspiracy with one of her classmates and a client of Ivy’s. Suddenly, there is much more on the line than good grades, money, or politics, and the price for this fix might be more than Tess is willing to pay.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for more in this exciting new series.

Giveaway:

US Only, shipped directly from publisher

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Author bio: 

Jennifer Lynn Barnes has written several acclaimed young adult novels, including the Raised by Wolves and the Naturals series. She has advanced degrees in psychology, psychiatry, and cognitive science. She received her PhD from Yale University and is now a professor in psychology.

www.jenniferlynnbarnes.com

@jenlynnbarnes

Follow the Tour:

Date
Blog
July 6
July 7
July 8
July 9
July 10
July 13
July 14
July 15
July 16
July 17  

20 comments:

  1. I read The Red Queen and was not impressed, to be honest. It was just ok for me. I had such high hopes because everyone loved it and THAT COVER! As for Vicious, I actually read the first 100 pages of it (as a sampler before I figured out doing this was a bad idea!). I still haven't finished! Grrr...I do love Schwab, though, so I know eventually I'll get to it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Jessica @ a GREAT readJuly 7, 2015 at 7:27 AM

    Nice! Red Queen is on my list too! But I want to read it! Very badly! The Bone Season just wasn't for me much to my dismay. I wanted to read Enclave but eventually gave it away after having it for so long. It was during on my rare spring cleanings with books! LOL!

    Here's my Tuesday Post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Stop what you're doing and read the Percy Jackson series! That is a staple for all readers! Lol But really it's good and I'm sure you'll love it! Give it a shot, even if you have to go the audiobook route!

    Here's My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  4. I really enjoyed this tour, I'm from Sydney, my cousin lives in Washington so it's nice to see what's out there, this is truly a fantastic tour post :D

    ReplyDelete
  5. The bone season and red queen are hyped books I do want to check out eventually. I really want to read anything by Rainbow Rowell.

    My TTT. http://readingawaythedays.blogspot.co.uk/2015/07/top-ten-hyped-books-ive-never-read.html

    ReplyDelete
  6. I really need to read the Bone Season and Nix as well! You should definitely listen to the Uprooted hype soon! Its fantastic!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I haven't read any of these but I'd quite like to read Landline and Red Queen.
    Serena / www.ramblingsofanotherunistudent.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  8. Shoot! The only ones I've read are Red Queen and Percy, I love them both :) I won't tell Andye, okay?

    ReplyDelete
  9. I will take all credit for Theodore :) When did you finally go to the Arboretum? I went to the San Diego Botanical Gardens yesterday and I kept thinking how much you would adore it--the DC Botanical +NationalArboretum x 10. When you visit me we will go. Yes.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Really? Well, now I don't feel so bad! Haha, but I really do want to read Red Queen ASAP, but I've been saying that since it was released.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Phew! I was legit worried as I was writing this post. HAHA, but yes! I KNOW! I'm working on it. I've just been in a blah reading mood, if ya know what I mean. Did you ever finish The Heart of Betrayal?

    ReplyDelete
  12. THANK YOU! You are my official secret keeper. Unfortunately, she already found out, but luckily, it's just her kids that will kill me if THEY find out. HAHA. But I do need to read them eventually!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Me too, Serena! I just need more time in my life! Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I know! I am really hoping that I'll be able to read Uprooted this month, because I cannot stand waiting much longer. I remember reading the excerpt before I bought it, and I was definitely wanting more asap, but just haven't picked it up yet! SOON, Amanda, SOON! :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. Ooooooh, I love Rainbow's YA books, especially Fangirl. I could reread that book over and over and still not get tired of it! Thanks for stopping by Megan!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I know I need to! Hahaha.

    ReplyDelete
  17. I DO TOO!!!! I just need more time in my life to just read all the things, ya know?! Oh no! I really want to love TBS, I just have to be in the right 'mood' to read it, I think. Hahaha I do that too with my books, but somehow, I've managed to hold on to that one!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Really? Wow! I have tried to stay away from the reviews of it so I don't really know of anyone who didn't like it. Usually with hyped books, I end up not liking them due to how much they are hyped unfortunately. They just don't add up to the amazing-ness that everyone says it was. I had that issue with We Were Liars. I really want to pick up Vicious though, because I loved ADSOM!!! And Andye says it's a must read. Maybe I'll get to it on Vacation or something, but I'm thinking Six of Crows will probably win for that trip! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  19. Any Schwab is a must read in my opinion. Andye is right! LOL! I never read reviews for The Red Queen. Just saw my friends talking about it (hype) and happened to see the star ratings for it in a few places. Everyone has what they like and what they don't. Maybe you'll be surprised!

    ReplyDelete
  20. WHAT. Becca! You must must must read Percy Jackson :D Those books are amazing, ugh. <3 I also really adored the Enclave trilogy :) Thank you for sharing this gorgeous list. <3 Hope you'll want to read all of these soonish :)

    ReplyDelete

Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)