Google+ Reading Teen: Waiting on Wednesday \\ NIGHTFALL Jake Halpern & Peter Kujawinski

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday \\ NIGHTFALL Jake Halpern & Peter Kujawinski



"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Pick of the week:


Nightfall
Author: Jake Halpern & Peter Kujawinski
Release Date: September 22nd 2015
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers


A story where edge-of-your-seat horror meets post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of Lois Lowry and The Mazerunner

On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every twenty-four hours—it comes every twenty-eight years. Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon. The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long.

Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night.

Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure. Locks must be taken off doors. Furniture must be arranged. Tables must be set. The rituals are puzzling—bizarre, even—but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.

Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing—the twins’ friend Line. Marin and Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line’s gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves. But Night is falling. Their island is changing.

And it may already be too late.

Peace, Love + Twilight,
Leydy Baltodano
Blogger & Book Reviewer, Once Upon a Twilight

Leave your thoughts

Post a Comment

Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)