Google+ Reading Teen: A *FLAILING* Review for TRUTHWITCH by Susan Dennard...

Monday, December 28, 2015

A *FLAILING* Review for TRUTHWITCH by Susan Dennard...

From Becs...


TRUTHWITCH
The Witchlands #1
by Susan Dennard
Series: The Witchlands
Hardcover: 416 pages
Publisher: Tor Teen (January 5, 2016)
Goodreads | Amazon


On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery”, a magical skill that sets them apart from others.

In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.

Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.

Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

Dearest Truthwitch,

Wowza. Wowza. Wowza.

You are worth every single bit of praise you've been getting so far. SO SO SO WORTH IT! Because every bit of praise that I've seen? Yeah, it's betting 150% accurate. You are, without a doubt in my mind, a force to be reckoned with. You are the new series that EVERY SINGLE PERSON is going to be flailing about. Mark my words, Truthwitch.

Safi, Iseult, Merik, and Aeduan are your main characters, although I have to admit Safi, Merik, Iseult, Aeduan are my favorites, in that order. They were all so distinctly well-rounded and written in a way that I always knew who's POV I was reading from without looking at the chapter headers. They immediately jumped off their pages, and right into my heart. I'm always in the mood for an exciting epic adventure, and one that shows what the true colors of best friendships are is even better. You completely overwhelmed my emotions, from being scared to on the edge of my seat to crying; I felt them all equally, and for you to accomplish that feat means you are truly something else, Truthwitch.

Safi and Iseult are kind of on the run. They got into a bit of a mess, and now a Bloodwitch named Aeduan is chasing them, out for their blood. Safi and Iseult get separated in their escape, and end up on their own wild adventures with witches, clans, villains, princes, engagements, and pirate ships until they end up back together on Merik's ship. I don't really want to say anything more plot-wise, because I don't want to give anything away, but all of these people's lives intertwine so exquisitely, and I'm absolutely dying to find out how Susan Dennard twists my heart even more in Truthwitch #2. WHEN IS THIS COMING OUT?! MY HEART NEEDS MORE-- PRONTO! OH THE AGONY!

If someone's planning on going into you and not wanting to come across a huge and equally horrible cliffhanger, then they should steer clear until they just can't take it any longer. If cliffhangers don't bother people, then they should jump on reading you like yesterday. (Except yes, yes, I know you don't come out until January 5th; it's an expression!) Readers should be prepared for a new best friend duo to ship, a super swoon-worthy pirate prince to pine over, frustratingly-hot and slow to burn romance, and an ever-expanding world and plot that's hard to put down.

Truthwitch, you are the beginning of what is surely to be the newest HIT Fantasy series, and I cannot wait until everyone has had a chance to experience your cunning, action-filled story, so we can all flail together! If readers pre-order ANY book this coming year, it should be you! Fans of Throne of Glass, Six of Crows, The Winner's Curse, should RUN, not walk to the local bookstores this January.



*FLAILS*








Leave your thoughts

Post a Comment

Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)