Google+ Reading Teen: THE LONG GAME (The Fixer 2) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes | A Thrilling Adventure

Friday, May 27, 2016

THE LONG GAME (The Fixer 2) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes | A Thrilling Adventure

 Review by Natalie

The Fixer #2
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Series: Fixer
Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens (June 7, 2016)
Language: English
Goodreads | Amazon

For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate's campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets.

Meanwhile, Tess's guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can--and cannot--be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in Washington, but she's about to discover first-hand that power always comes with a price.

Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Ally Carter, the second book in this thrilling series will leave readers breathless.

Thank you Andye from for letting me review this!!! PHEW


Once again, that was an exciting adventure. The story picks up close to when the first book ended, and carries all the same elements that made the first book great. It was full of amazing, well-rounded characters. All of those darky, twisty turns you didn't see coming or were in complete denial about. It got my blood pumping so fast, I couldn't put it down once I picked it up. This plot was more politic focused than the last book, and just as intricate. What starts out as Tess doing Emilia a favor for her class-president campaign quickly morphs into.....well, not merely a class-prez campaign. I didn't expect it to escalate so much, but it did, and boy, was it juicy.


AND OHMYGOODNESS CAN WE TALK ABOUT SOME OF THOSE PLOT TWISTS IN A NON-SPOILERY MANNER?!?! They hurt when they happened. They hurt real bad. I had no idea who to trust, Tess and I had our eyes on everybody. 


The romance definitely grew from what it was in the first book, which was essentially nonexistent. Tess, nor any of the other characters, are gooey romantics, so it doesn't get steamy or scandalous, but it's definitely cute to see the romantic tension grow when Tess is completely oblivious to rowdy behavior such as that.


So the book was great. As hoped for and expected. Can't wait for round three! 

Happy Reading!!!

Leave your thoughts

Post a Comment

Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)