Google+ Reading Teen: THE LAST TIME WE WERE US by Leah Konen

Wednesday, June 8, 2016

THE LAST TIME WE WERE US by Leah Konen

Review by Jennifer

THE LAST TIME WE WERE US
by Leah Konen
Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (May 10, 2016)
Language: English
Goodreads | Amazon

A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood best friend, and the small town lies that have kept them apart. Leah Konen’s The Last Time We Were Us is perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sara Zarr, and Gayle Forman.

Liz Grant is about to have the summer of her life. She and her friend MacKenzie are finally getting invited to all the best parties, and, with any luck, Innis Taylor, the most gorgeous guy in Bonneville, will be her boyfriend before the Fourth of July.

Then Jason Sullivan comes back to town. A million years ago, he was her best friend, but that was before he ditched her for a different crowd . . . and before he attacked Innis’s older brother and got sent away to juvie. All of Bonneville still thinks he’s dangerous, but Liz finds it hard to believe what people say about her childhood friend. If word gets out she’s seeing him, she could lose everything.

But what if there’s more to that horrible night than she knows? And how many more people will get hurt when the truth finally comes out? Liz will have to decide if she can trust herself—and her heart—before it’s too late.

I can honestly say that I had no strong feelings towards this book. I didn't love it and I didn't hate it. The story might have been a little dragged out, I would've gotten all the necessary goodies out of it had it been cut in half. But! The goodies were very tasty! The book has a non-popular girl becoming popular, a few triangles of relationships, and a lingering mystery.

Many people can relate to the main character, Liz. A high school student longing to be popular, hoping to gain the attention of the most sought-after boy in school, Innis. In the beginning she has his attention. In the middle he seems to really like her. The end, she becomes smart and realizes what is important.

And then there is the other boy, Jason. He was her childhood bestie, who dumped her in junior high for the popular kids and then ended up going to juvie for a year and a half. Yep. It took some different turns! Liz forgives him and becomes his only friend upon his juvie return.

The mystery lingering in this story is the truth about what happened the night Jason was arrested. (And it lingers!!) A few teasers kept me turning pages and I almost gave up a few times, but it was an exciting reveal!

Innis is the typical spoiled, popular, entitled rich kid. Jason is a good kid who made a bad choice, but it helped him realize what is important in his life. Liz is a smart, wannabe popular girl who decides that her life is fulfilled without popularity and shallow friends.

I liked this book. The Last Time We Were Us by Leah Konen was a good read.

Leave your thoughts

Post a Comment

Leave us a comment. Commenting people are our favorites! And we like to give things to favorites :)